XFL Announces Eight Cities for 2023 Return

The long awaited, third version of the XFL is a little closer to reality. Owners Dany Garcia, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, and RedBird Partners announced the eight home cities for the league on Sunday.

Unlike the revived USFL, the XFL teams will play in their home markets.

The league will return to Arlington, Houston, St. Louis, Seattle, and Washington, D.C.. Each city hosted a team in XFL version 2. They will be joined by Las Vegas, Orlando, and San Antonio. Gone are New York/New Jersey, Los Angeles, and Tampa Bay.

NYC, LA, and Tampa reportedly had the lowest attendance during the pandemic shortened 2020 season.

The addition of Orlando, San Antonio, and Vegas should bring more fans than the shuttered cities.

Orlando and San Antonio hosted two popular teams from the defunct Alliance of American Football, the Apollos and Commanders respectively. Orlando and the returning Las Vegas are also original XFL cities.

The original Orlando Rage averaged over 25,000 fans a game while the Las Vegas Outlaws averaged over 22,000 in 2001. Factor in the tourist nature of these cities and their inclusion should be no surprise.

The XFL had previously announced a partnership with the National Football League. The XFL will act as a testing ground for new rules, equipment, etc., and as a training ground for officials and coaches.

The XFL will kickoff off the 2023 season on February 18, a week after Super Bowl LVII. Games will air on ABC, ESPN, FX, and related streaming platforms as part of a multi-year deal with The Walt Disney Company.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s